ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2001-12-12
Upon books and hair dye

Ooof.

And, again with the 'Oooof'.

Just sent off all the emails about Secret Slasha. All 67 of them.

And most of them are dead cool. Most people are gonna be able to really kick ass and take names with the stories.

But I have doubt about a few, and I figure there'll be at least one person who'll be let down...unfortunately.

But, hey, it's taken care of. I've done my part until Christmas Eve. Thank the gods.


Bleached my hair today. It's freakish looking, and I think I like it like that. All streaks of orange and red and white-blonde at the roots, of course. All streaky and strange and god knows what.

I'm trying to decide if I'll stick with this or if I'll just throw some different color on top -- probably a bright red so that the highlights get weird and cool.

But right now, it just amuses me. And it's drastic-cool. Maybe I'll throw even more bleach on top -- even out the roots and the fringes, get it all even and glorious.

But then it'd be blonde, and, dude, I haven't been really blonde since I was 17.... It's kinda disturbing.

But we'll see. We'll see.


I'm finally reading The Fellowship Of The Ring, slowly and surely slogging my way through it.

It's terribly British and ever-so-slightly campy, which is just amusing as hell. All about how the hobbits love each other and love their things and whatnot. I'm amused by it, and I'll probably continue on to the other two.

Of course, I might just decide to get totally lazy and crack open Bruce Campbell's autobiography, 'cause, y'know, he's The Man, but, no, must slog through Lord Of The Rings. Must must must. It's not like you haven't been staring at miniatures of hobbits for the past freakin' seven months.

But it could be worse. We could be having Harry Potter tie-ins. At which point I would have to kill myself, just out of sheer obstinacy.


Obviously, because I'm reading LOTR, I finished The Blind Assassin. And although I realize why the character revealed what she did when she did, it really felt like too much too soon "Oh, crap, it's the end of the book and I haven't resolved A, B, or C or what I wanted to do."

"I married him, dear readers," and such. Bah. Too many things dropped in at the last minute when throughout the rest of the book the narrator seems like a lump of totally apathetic jello.

She doesn't seem to make a conscious decision throughout her entire life, and then at the very last minute, she goes "Oh, and I did this, this, and this too. During all this time."

Dude, I need at least some foreshadowing for some of it. I mean, yeah, I knew some of it, but then to just keep throwing things out that had no basis?

It's a good book, but it does also suffer slightly from things I found in other Atwood books. Mainly, the whole "woman makes no decisions in her life" vibe I get from most of them. I suppose it's a valid theme to explore, but, most of the time, I just end up wanting to shake the narrators and go "Do something with your fucking lives! Want something!"

Which is why, I guess, The Robber Bride is my favorite. At least the leads in that novel want things -- even if it's just the death of the woman who stole their husbands away.


I think I'm getting a bunch of books for Christmas. I have a bunch of books on my wish list, and being that books tend to be cheaper, I figure I'll get a bunch.

Which means even more reading. Wheee!

(although I really doubt anyone's gonna buy me that �78 Louisianan Creole dictionary...but a girl can dream...)


Last Christmas, my darling husband gave me House Of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski. And, yeah, it was pretentious post-modern, what with its disregard for plain clean text and the ramblings of mad men in the footnotes creating the two separate storylines.

But the story about the house, and the rooms that appeared, and all that...that was some scary shit, man. That had me ignoring family as I curled up on the corner of the couch and read throughout all of Christmas, turning pages until 3 am...

So I still love it. It's overwrought, it's too post-modern for its own good, but I'm still going "Fuck! There are things in the house! Stairs! There are stairs!"

(did I mention that if I stopped and thought about it, Blair Witch Project scares me shitless too?)


I'm hoping for more good books this Christmas. And maybe good DVDs. And good stuff. Although I still don't exactly buy into Christmas. I'm more of a "Dude, get presents for people when you want. Love them all year round" kind of person.

'sides, then, y'know, you're not broke at the end of the year, are you?

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?