ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-01-06
Braindead movie talk

I've been attempting to think all day long. It's hard to think when it's a Sunday and I spent all night redesigning a page that required a second redesign this afternoon because the design was screwy.

That, and we had a pile of movies to watch today.

Yesterday, it was Monkey Trouble. No, really, we sat there and watched it. Well, I sat there and watched all of it.

A movie with Harvey Keitel as a gypsy (which makes no sense to speak of) and Thora Birch looking like she's around 9 when she's 12 at the time, and, yes, a monkey. A little Capuchin monkey that was trained to steal things.

I enjoyed it possibly a little too much, I think. Spent the first half hour or so going "look at the monkey! Look at it! Look! Monkey! Lookit the monkey!"

Of course, if I was five, it would've been the greatest movie ever. And I would've watched it repeatedly, cackling the entire time. Oh yes. Me and my monkey.


And then we watched Rabid today (after the Las Vegas episode of Roswell, which was amusing tripe and sent both of us into jaw-dropping glee when Katherine Heigl appeared in a very low cut dress), and Rabid's always amusing, screaming 70s' fashions and Cronenberg's strange fascination with vaginas and clitorises in strange places and fucked-up doctors.

And an eaten baby! Hurray!

Then there was Idle Hands, which was just funny. We had a laugh, I realized that Jessica Alba actually had a bit more range than pouting. And, dude, any movie where the evil menace is stopped by the hero shotgunning an obscene amount of pot is a movie I can get behind.

"It's Mighty Joe Bong!"

Aw yeaaaah...


We're watching Deep Blue Sea right now, and I don't have a fucking clue why I'm watching it.

I hate shark movies. I hate any movie with a big fucking...thing in the water coming to get me. I think it started with seeing Orca when I was young and then going to Sea World. Having that big fucking killer whale come up from the depths and just jump in the air right in front of me....shiiiiiit...

So now I have this fucking miserable phobia that strikes me at any goddamned time I'm immersed in water. I'll be in the pool, la la la, look at me swim, I'm a happy girl, and all of the sudden...

Shit, there's a big fucking thing in the water and it's going to get me and I'm going to die and yes, I know that this is just a damned swimming pool, but there's a thing and it's going to get me.

I'm doing a bit better with this one, although the initial scenes got my ass. I kept on closing my eyes and screaming on AIM to Dol, like the stupid girl I am.


I swear I had things to say today. But they all just sort of faded into the background.

I'm totally braindead.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?