ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-04-01
The Lost Weekend -- 'cept I found it here.

Still deeply tired. Twitchy, cross-eyed, my brain's come and gone and there's nothing left but a tired creature curled up on the bed trying to figure out where her brain's gone.

Had a fantastic April Fool's. Pulled a stunt that caused some tears, caused some anger, but did exactly what it needed to do. Make people realize it's just a fucking website and it's not the end of the bloody world.....

It made me giggle a bit. Especially since I spent pretty much most of today cleaning up and slapping together UCSL into a new and fabulous version. Yeah, just a fucking website, but what the hell, throwing in some CSS and dropping some stuff makes it easier to run -- throwing shit up in that soothing zen-like way until I get bored of it.

(although I forgot about the fucking FAQ. Eh, fuck it. Doing it tomorrow.)


Had a fan-fucking-tastic weekend. Very tiring, though, as you can imagine.

On Friday, went to Uni-Qlo. The one in Leicester has a giant lucky cat in front of it. I am in love.

No, you don't understand. Uni-Qlo is, officially, the best clothing shop in the universe. The only possible way it could be any better is if it had an online store -- to save me the �5.30 it costs to get to Leicester.

I have a new pair of black chinos (in exactly the size I needed them, and finding 42/29s in menswear can be positively miserable), four new t-shirts, a tank top, a cardigan, a pair of boxers, and what they call "leisure pants" and I call absolute fucking heaven.

And I spent around �55 total.

Love. So madly in love with a clothing store, it hurts.

Going back when they bring in their fall/winter line. I need a new coat, I need new things, and, like I said, if they had an online store, I would be dead from the sheer pleasure of it all.

So on the train ride back, ran into Roz on the same train (oh the wackiness of fate!), and then Selena (on the same train too! Augh!) and nattered on for a bit before going back home.

Dyed my hair (purple! Full on purple all over in the way that people with normal jobs never could have, but I'm surrounded by freaks and geeks on a daily basis and those're just the miniatures...), got a phone call that everyone was going to see Blade II and promptly rushed out the door.

Unfortunately, there was a bit of a snafu, and I got to see Blade II, but the husband didn't -- much to my dismay, 'cause it was a movie I would've liked to see with him -- only because we like making fun of bad vampire movies. And bad movies in general. And not so bad movies that just deserve being made fun of.

So after the gang (consisting of Roz, Selena, Heather, and Meghan) went to see Blade II, we then had a light snack at Wagamama, and then went to see Lord Of The Rings. Again. In the vain hope that we'd see Two Towers footage.

I say vain because, yes, they did not show it. I sat through another showing, got home around 1 am, and had to pay for a taxi and got nothing.

Well, okay, I got to see the movie again. Which I always like. Although, honestly, in the theaters, they play it too loud, and the Ringwraiths' screeching hurts my ears. To the point of putting my fingers in my ears.

Next day, up early to condition the living fuck out of my hair (having bleached it before putting in the dye, it was now resembling badly dyed raffia -- the kind you get in craft shops for really hideous art projects), and just generally get ready for a night of wild crazy mayhem.

Starting with Crossroads.

And, okay, honestly? It's not as bad as I make it out to be. It's still completely and utter shite, but it's watchable. There's Britney, there's Britney in a bad teen movie, there's some moderately good acting with a thinly written plot and some geniunely acceptable moments...

But my God, when is someone going to start doing the midnight dress-up viewings of this movie? Can I get in on this early? 'cause it's so gonna be a glorious gay cult classic. Obviously.

Went to Wagamama after that, had some more delicious noodles, then hit The Pit And The Pendulum for drinking. Lots of drinking.

And sending pervy slashy text messages to Dol. And getting an easter egg from Heather, who works at Thornton's (the fabulous chocolatier) and iced upon it "Pervy Hobbit Fanciers Association". And coming up with more to a Hackers/Goldeneye crossover that is so intensely wrong, but utterly amusing. I accidentally signed myself up for an Acid Burn/Natalya cybersex encounter. Bad me.

After that, it was a quick rush over to Warner Village, where we were told that we might be able to be snuck into the back of the showing of The Lord Of The Rings to see that Two Towers footage, but it was a no-go. Again.

Home again with drunken text messages to Dol and drunken entries to livejournal and just goofiness all around. Had one friend from work make it to my party, had one friend from the husband's work arrive too, but, in general, it all worked out very nicely.

Especially since the friend from work turned me onto The Pit's Pride drink. See, since they're a horror-themed pub, they have drinks named after the seven deadly sins. And I've been mainly drinking Envy, which is green. And I think has vodka, midori, lemonade, and sweet and sour. And is good.

But, no, Pride. Aw yeaaah... Bacardi, Blue Cuaraco, sweet and sour, and lemonade. It turns your mouth blue. And it's so good.

But if you're not careful, you will wake up the next morning with a streak of blue on your lips. Which is mildly disturbing, I'll have you know.

Sunday was an utterly mellow day -- managed to get to Starbucks in time to see Megs go, and then spent a good two hours gossiping and drink (jesus help me) their chai lattes.

Now, in the states, every time I went to Starbucks, I would get a terrible drink. It wouldn't matter what I ordered, it would be terrible.

But here, I got the best damn chai latte I've ever had and it made me sing and dance and do all sorts of things in joy.

And then I felt like a total whore and had to go home and shower repeatedly. Ugh. Me and my corporate-swillin' ass should just die.


And now I'm here. Tired. But cheerful. Planning on spending the next million weekends...asleep. Or possibly just watching television. But mainly asleep.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?