ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-04-21
A surprisingly organized day.

Oh my God, I've been so productive today.

Including, by the way, entries for the past three days. Here, here, and here. I feel like such a dumb-ass. Although they sound like they were written on the day, they weren't. Okay?

 

But, man, productive today. So very productive.

First, I organized my email. It's something I've been putting off, but I worked it all out very nicely. Cleaned up some mailboxes, fixed up filters, organized madly...it's all fabulous. Then I updated some pages, as I do. Not as many as I could, but enough to make the Sunday seem right.

And then I got down to work.

See, we've been buying a lot of cards for the BtVS collectible card game, because, well, we like it. So today I sat down on the bed, pulled out all my cards, and cleaned up my decks some more.

Right now, I still have a Giles deck and a Willow deck. Once I get a level one Kendra, I could have a Kendra deck too, but that's in the distance for me.

So my Giles deck became a Giles and Cordelia deck -- heavy focus on smarts and charm, with challenges that like smarts and charm too. Won't do too well against a heavy butt-kicking force, but there are a few cards that make you switch from butt-kicking to smarts, so, y'know, I will kick it there.

The Willow deck is a Willow and Oz deck, for a lot of smarts. Lots of smarts, and that nifty werewolf challenge. Plus, y'know, Oz. It has to be.

If I could, I would've made a Giles and Oz deck and a Willow and Cordelia deck, because, well, come on, but Oz only gains charm when he's with Willow (those anti-slash bastards at the gaming company...why I oughta...), but, well, I do have to admit that Giles and Cordelia are something of a weakness for me, so be damned if I'm going to break them up.

Well, until I get a Cordelia deck. Then, y'know, all bets are off.

 

So once I did that, I was still in my "Must organize world" mode. So I grabbed all my comic books, grabbed a couple of boxes, and organized those suckers.

I am a bad comic collector, though. I don't bag, I don't board, I just stick them into boxes and occasionally forget to do even that. They pile up and get damp and it's just a mess.

But since I buy them to, y'know, read them, I figure the enjoyment I get out of them is more important than the collectability of them.

Was briefly tempted to re-read through Grant Morrison's X-Men work. And then maybe The Invisibles. And then maybe Kill Your Boyfriend again. But resisted. Resisted most of my comics -- I knew I'd never get any work done otherwise.

Boxed them, organized the area they sit on, and just generally made things nicer. I still have a huge pile of old X-mens from Sheila in a suitcase from our trip to L.A., so I'm not fully done, but most of my stuff is carefully put away.

I say most because I'm dead positive there are two issues of the Iceman miniseries that are missing. And it's aggravating me. Grrr.

 

Once I finished that, I dyed my hair (and the purple took so it looks very nice, although it's more of a burgundy than a purple), I painted my nails, I made the bed, and I got everything together to go to work tomorrow.

I also read Rising Stars, J. Michael Straczynski's comic. We just got the second graphic novel yesterday and I wanted to re-read the first one before I read it. So I read both today. And Top 10 by Alan Moore again because it's just amusing.

I've been geeking out all day. But I've been seriously organized. It's disturbing.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?