ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-04-22
Attack of the Nerds

As usual, today at work was spent spacing out.

Well, no, that's not true. I did get a lot of work done. And I'm getting work done now. But spacing out pretty much covers it because, well, I space out when I work. I'm like "la la la la la where is my brain -- hey, look! Shiny thing!"

Still getting adjusted to my new desk and my new space, but a healthy dose of Star Wars cereal and a cup of chai tea in the morning makes everything all right.

Aw, yeah, the sugar, man...the sugar...

 

So tonight when I get home, aside from the twenty million episodes of Angel we will probably watch, I will also be attempting to create a Bring It On slash archive. Why? Because I can.

And for the same reason that I start all my other archives -- because I want to read something, and I can't find it in a single place. Like Giles and Oz. Or Xander and Anya. Or Smallville femslash.

So, now, Bring It On. F/F and M/M slash. Because I want Les fic as well as Missy fic.

I figure I ought to get the basics done tonight. I mean, it's just a matter of picking a style then going with it -- right now I only have one story for it because, well, all I have is my one story, but here's hoping I get some more.

(Which reminds me that I need to email Morphea about her story. And about other things. Or, if she's reading this -- get in touch with me? Please?

And anyone who's written any BIO slash -- email me too?)

 

And it's Blogger Insider time again! This time, the questions are from the ultra-fabulous Wendy, who is also a Buffy fan and therefore far cooler than you.

No, okay, I'm just kidding about the "than you" part. Honestly.

1. �How long have you been blogging?
I've had this puppy since January 2001 -- the one New Year's resolution I've managed to keep over the years. I've had Common Street Trash for about ten months and [ soul kitchen ] for around seven.

2. �Was there any particular blogger that inspired you to start?
Actually, there wasn't, which is strange. I had seen a few journals on various places, but it didn't really connect to me. So I don't know why I decided that I needed one...I guess I just wanted to type endless babble over and over and over again.

3. �Do you have any pet names for any part of your body? What are they?
Heh. Nope. They're a part of me, y'know? I can't be separating them from my body so I don't give them names.

4. �Have you ever had an online romance?
I met my husband in an IRC chatroom. He was the first and, hopefully, the last online romance I have -- it's just too much of a bloody effort...all the time difference planning, the long-distance phone calls...

5. �Name 3 material things you can't live without.
Speck the wonder powerbook
My bed
A good hawaiian shirt.

6. �How many CD's do you own? �Which ones are your favorites?
Oh my God, I have dozens. We have five 200-CD shelving units filled between us and then another twenty (or more) piled all over the place.
For me, my favorites would probably be my Oingo Boingo collection, my David Bowie collection, Fantastic Plastic Machine's "Luxury" and the Spaced soundtrack. But I could change my mind tomorrow.

7. �What is the best movie you've seen recently? Why?
Crossroads.
No, okay, I lie. Because as much as I do love Ms. Spears' movie, it was complete and utter dreck.
So I'm going to have to go with The Lord Of The Rings, which I will gladly watch and rewatch and fall in love with over and over again.
At least, until Attack of the Clones comes out.

8. �What is the worst movie you've ever seen? �Why?
I have seen a lot of movies. A lot. And it's really hard to pick the worst because, well, you have to take into account what annoys you about a movie. I mean, do you go for "I nearly walked out"? "I did walk out"? "I didn't walk out, but I was fuming afterwards"? "I love it because it's so bad"?
Nearly walked out: In The Mouth Of Madness
Did walk out: Baz Luhrmann's Romeo & Juliet (purely because of Claire Danes. I can't stand her voice. At all.)
Didn't walk out, but ended up hating: American Beauty and Moulin Rouge
Love because it's so bad: Um...you name it. I love really bad movies. Plan Nine From Outer Space, Night Of The Lepus, The Devil's Advocate, I'm so there.

9. �What's your favorite TV show?
Angel, with Buffy and Spaced trailing very close behind. And 24 my current crack du jour.

10. �Name one bad habit you have that you wish you could get rid of:
Continually doing the "If I ignore it, it'll go away and everything will be fine" thing. Repeatedly.

 

And tonight? I'm heading to the movie theater and picking up Attack Of The Clones tickets. A month early. Because I am that much of a nerd.

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?