ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-06-02
Sleep, blue, and awful disclosures

You know how wonderful your relationship is when, after a strong episode of 24, the husband goes "Hey, you know what would be good? Watching Angel."

Aw yeah. It's all the commercials we've seen for Channel 4 finally showing second season -- the urge to completely and utterly watch a heck of a lot of Angel as hit us and hit us hard.

And, y'know, second season. Seeing how third season was telegraphed right and left, of course.

 

I would've talked about yesterday, but -- aha! -- we slept all day!

No, literally. I woke up around eight, because I've been sleeping strangely, we had breakfast, we showered, then we fell asleep. Excellent!

So we just basically fucked around that day. Slept in, got angry over sleeping in, bitched about various things. I made a fanlisting for 24 because it's totally my crack du jour.

Which is probably the only productive thing I did that day.

We also changed the curtains in our room -- since I moved in (and several years before, to be honest), they've been a beat-up faded red, which looked good, but made everything else look really red and bright too. And it slowly...got on my nerves.

Especially in the early morning. And with the sun coming up at 4am or so now, well, it just ain't groovy.

So we replaced them with these blue ones -- same sort of style, which kinda look like they're from the 70s (and probably are) -- but they make everything in the room have a pretty blue tint.

blue blue electric blue that's the color of my room where I will live...

It reminds me of my old room back in L.A. Bright full rich blue, white ceiling, pale blue blinds, wood floor -- everything about it just feels...alive, y'know? It's all about color and life and simple sweet elegance in everything.

I love blue. I love painting rooms rich and full of color and life. It makes me feel good just to sit in them and look at the walls as the sunlight shines over them.

 

So, today, I was actually productive. We went into town and picked up a few things for next weekend -- when we're in London enjoying the wonderful sights of Eclipse and secretly trying to get pictures of Charisma bending over.

Oh, it'll be mayhem. Wonderful wonderful mayhem.

We also went shopping for shorts -- the husband needed some that weren't multi-colored ultra-bright swimshorts and I just wanted more because, yes, when you bitch about it not being hot enough, it will suddenly spike in heat and you will be begging for shorts and ice cream.

And, luckily, H&M had nice shorts for �7.99, which made us happy monkeys. And a XL button short-sleeve shirt for �4.99. And a Chairman Mao hat for �3.99. So we enjoyed that.

Can't wait to go to Uni-Qlo, though. Heading down to London on Friday and will hit the Uni-Qlo shortly afterwards. The summer collection is calling me...

I also have to go to Harvey Nichols' (oooh, posh) to get more face powder. See, I only go through face powder about one every year and a half. Since I only use that much, I want the best I can get, right? So I get Nars, and, unfortunately, the only place I know where to get Nars is in Harvey Nichols' in London. Damnit.

So I'm going to splurge on face powder and maybe an eyeshadow or two. And then spend more at Uni-Qlo. Because, damnit, I got a raise and I should enjoy my life.

 

So after we bought clothes, we also got a Dr. Who DVD and a couple of magazines (including a DVD magazine that includes the pilot episode of CSI on DVD, so, dude, score), and then went into The Works just to look.

And up on the very top shelf, next to Sacher-Masoch's book and a book called Bisexual Lives, was something that I was positive I'd never get a copy of.

The Awful Disclosures Of Maria Monk.

You probably don't know what that is. It's something only religious history geeks eventually pick up.

But, basically, the short version: Starting after Henry VIII started his own little church, there was a lot of anti-Catholic sentiment in the English-speaking world. When the Puritans moved to the wide open space and other persecuted religious groups joined together to form the US, the anti-Catholic sentiment kept right on going. In the first half of the 19th century, the anti-Catholic really started hitting hard, to the point where a convent was raided in a riot, and a group of girls and their teacher had to hide in the woods.

And one of the instigators of this hysteria was The Awful Disclosures Of Maria Monk -- a book about a woman who was a nun, and all the horrible things she went through. Dead babies in the cellar, nuns crushed under mattresses, terrible orgies, that sort of thing.

Stunningly lurid. Supposedly true, but way too lurid to be true, y'know? Maria Monk sent in a letter to the papers saying "Question me about anything," but...yeah.

But I read this for a paper I wrote for a religious history class -- comparing and contrasting Maria Monk's story of Catholic religious life and St. Elizabeth Seaton's life, who lived right around the same time. I had a beautiful title for the paper too -- "Good Mother Seaton and the Whore of Babylon".

Unfortunately, the paper sucked ass, because I was swamped with twenty million things and my fianc� was in town, but I still love that name. And I flipped through loads of microfiche in order to read The Awful Disclosures..., and I always wanted a copy.

And now I have one. For a pound! Wheeeee!

Yeah, I geek out over strange things. Accept this.

 

Tomorrow, while other people are celebrating the Queen's jubilee (which I'm all for, yay, 50 years, whatever), we're having a Star Wars marathon. Snacks, and the original trilogy. That's what life's all about, baby.

We have our fans out, we have our windows open, and we'll be sitting there in very little clothing and watching a heck of a lot of Star Wars.

I'm so psyched.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?