ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-08-03
For a do-nothing weekend, I sure type a lot.

Grrr. I hate it when my computer does the mighty crash thing while I'm in the middle of an entry. It's very disorienting.

I was talking about how I've been getting some kick-ass stuff in the mail. Some of it I purchased like the eBay whore that I am, some of it was from friends, some of it was relating to the nearly-defunct Dance Card (am I correct in assuming that? I haven't received anything recently, and I haven't sent out anything recently, so I'm guessing nearly-dead? Something like that. Yeah.).

But, wow is it all groovy. Seriously.

Yesterday, it was a 5" Afro Ken toy I bought -- A nice normal Afro Ken, his nice orangey color, but with a black muzzle and a big black 'fro the likes of which you have never seen.

This is the Shaft of Afro Kens. This is the bad mother---shut yo' mouth! Yeah, he has that little Afro Ken smile goin' on, but don't let looks deceive you -- he's a hit with the ladies and the coolest cat out there.

And his afro is detachable. Do I really need to say more? d-e-t-a-c-h-a-b-l-e. I can take it off and put it on other things. Monkeys with afros. Action figures with afros. Pikachus with afros. I can afro-ize everything in the house, y'all! There is no wrong!

No wrong at all.

 

Today, as I lounged about on the bed, the husband went downstairs to check the mail and came back with a huge pile of packages, and all for me!

HerWorship sent me a book she didn't want -- a collection of Victorian etiquette. It's a bit lame, and the "Ha ha! Let's laugh at the people of old and their wacky ways" style of comedy generally irritates me, but it's still a fun little read -- I grooved on it mightily.

But if that wasn't enough, she put in Taco Bell seasoning packets (because there is crack, and then there is Taco Bell, and, obviously, the Bell is far far more addictive) and clove cigarettes! Oh God, I haven't had a clove since Eclipse.

And then Halle sent me a box (since I sent her one with makeup and baby clothes), and that was even freakin' cooler.

Inside that was even more Taco Bell seasoning (I now have enough to directly mainline into my system and give me the ultimate taco bell high), another pack of clove cigarettes (which means I won't have to ask my grandmother to pack some -- being that most of the family doesn't actively know of my smoking habits), Wet N Wild makeup (oh! God! 99 cent nail polish! I've missed you!), the Beanie Baby Chinese Zodiac monkey (which is actually quite scary looking), a Sigmund Freud action figure, Dilbert mints for the husband, an *NSync card (they're cowboys! Very gay cowboys!), a big plastic cockroach that carries candy, and, weirdest of all, this eight-inch tall metal monkey that is holding a plate. It's meant to hold business cards, but, right now, he's holding a little candle my mother-in-law brought back from her trip.

So freakin' cool. There really aren't words to describe how cool those boxes were.

And then there was more! I got an envelope from Smash -- someone who is on a couple of the same BtVS lists as me and then was also on Dance Card. And in there...dude.

Just, dude. Because I can't believe how cool this is.

She made a mix CD. Where she put Buffy and Angel quotes onto the music. So you're sitting there listening to Beck's "Devil's Haircut" and Xander speaks over the bridge, and, lo and behold, it's "Xander's Haircut" now!

She's got some of them on her site -- you should really check them out for fucking coolness.

And to top it off -- she included a tiny little magnet with a fanart image of Faith and Britney together. As if knees weren't meant to bend!

And then, finally, I also got Fantastic Plastic Machine's "Beautiful" album, which I got from eBay. It's a bit different from the earlier stuff -- less 60s' kitsch and more 70s/80s disco, but still intensely intensely groovy and enjoyable -- I'd recommend it to everyone.

Oooof.

 

No wonder I'm such a lazy bastard on the weekends. Too busy obtaining stuff to actually do anything.

No, wait, I did do something!

See, Crystal goes around with her digicam and takes some fucking fabulous pictures of New Orleans. And it makes me horribly homesick -- 'cause, shit, that was home for me. That's a place I feel incredible at.

And she had this kickass one of a bunch of small items next to the Mississippi River. Which I, being the girl that I am, promptly made into wallpaper:

Mississippi Altar

It's only in 1024x768, so if you have a different monitor size, you're gonna have to deal.

 

I also spent a few minutes uploading my reads page into BlogRoll, which is just freakin' cool.

Not only does it keep track of all my links, it also tells me when they update! Of course, you have to go and fill this out to make it work, but, hey, no small beans, right?

So freakin' cool. Major thanks to velvetelvis for having the link on her site and therefore directing me to the coolness.

(Randomly, every time I see "velvetelvis," I think of this photo-comic book called either Hellvis or She-lvis. I can't remember which. It was in an Eros Comics catalog.

However, I have just discovered that I might be confusing it with the Shelvis the Trans-Elvis from Temptress shows. Being that I own their CD and remember Shelvis all too well, it's possible. But I'm also convinced there was a one-shot Eros Comic about a badass rockabilly biker chick and it involved a lot of Elvis too.

Fucking Elvis. Infiltrating my mind.

Hey, randomly, did you know that if the rate of people becoming Elvis impersonators continues upon its path, one out of every four people will be Elvis impersonators by the year 2018? Thanks, LM for that info. I would link to the site that had the information, but I'm getting "Unknown Host" right now.)

That was a segue. I should go do something else now. I'm going to be going through the RingWorld pages to clean up the bad HTML dreamweaver can leave behind, because I'm generally a nice person and Ring has become my crack (dude, the things I'm hearing about this remake are all good. How surreal is that?).

Or maybe just play with a monkey.

Or read Women Who Run With Wolves. It's a clich�, I know, and I read some of it a few years ago, and I'm realizing why I never finished it -- too much "Everything must be explained and it's all mythic, man! Mythic!" and I'm going "um...yeah...can you either vague it up a little more or define it, 'cause you're really getting quite aggravating."

I must never be meant for psychoanalysis. I'm obviously not into myself enough.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?