ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-10-18
still sick. still very sick.

I've been sick.

I'm still coughing, I'm still sniffling, I went to work on Wednesday and Thursday, but I didn't sleep at all for those nights, and, today, I woke up, hacked some more, and figured that there was no way I was going to be able to handle work today.

So I got to sleep. Beautiful beautiful sleep, my friend, my darling.

Of course, right now, I'm hacking like I'm suffering from the worst tuberculosis ever (I took cough medicine, but it obviously ain't workin'...which pisses me off, because it was rather vile, and I forced myself to swallow it for no goddamned reason...), and I'm dead tired. I'm trying to figure out what I want to do, because the husband isn't home yet, and I know he'll be a bit clumsy when he gets home -- having gone to the beer festival and enjoyed the fruits of the hops and barley...or something like that.

I fucking hate being sick. I know, I know, everyone else does, but right now, I'm just so goddamned frustrated...

However, on the two days I did go to work, I did get to do some kickass things. Aside from work. On Wednesday, aside from Japanese class, I also went to Waterstones and discovered that they had a whole new crop of books in the 3 for the price of 2 deal...

...including the entire back catalog of Haruki Murakami.

Oh, I was in bliss. I did a little dance. I saw that they had his new book, After The Quake, and although it wasn't in the deal, it was �2 off, and I picked it up with eager hands.

I also grabbed Sputnik Sweetheart and Hard-Boiled Wonderland..., because those were the two I hadn't read yet. And, on a whim, I picked up Peyton Place by Grace Metalious, because I've heard so much about it so many times and figured it was about time to read it.

That's what I got on Wednesday. Four books. And Thursday, when I had to go to renew my bus card and was lured into the Waterstones again...

Wild Sheep Chase, Dance Dance Dance, and South Of The Border, West Of The Sun. Which pretty much makes up all the books I want from the range for now. And, damn, that's a lot of books.

I'm halfway through After The Quake, a collection of short stories that just makes my toes curl with the spare elegant scenes just laid out in front of you like the finest pieces of sashimi, and I was reading Sputnik Sweetheart in the bath today, which is also fantastic... But before I could read them, I had to get through Peyton Place, because I made the mistake of starting to read it, and I couldn't put it down.

Damn, I loved Peyton Place. It was pulp deliciousness with hysterics and kinky sex thinly veiled and all that. It's going right next to Valley Of the Dolls when I get bookcases. My pulp bookcase, my wacky Japanese author bookcase, my bizarre nonfiction bookcase, oh yes...

And then, today, in the US, it's the release of The Ring! And the official website has more stuff! Like wallpapers, and screensavers, and just plain more stuff!

I watched the original again tonight while spending a lot of time downloading various clips from various places (check out Ringworld to find out where to get clips). Sadako's still scary, the movie's still creepy, and, man, I love how I have it on DVD now.

I really wish I could see the remake. I can't believe I have to wait until it finally gets over here (which is either January or February, depending on where I look, and will probably change depending on the success rate of the opening weekend in the US). Of course, if a whole bunch of people go and see it in the States, and it makes #1 and makes oodles of cash, it'll get over here faster. Which would make me happy.

But it probably won't. And I'll probably have to wait forever. Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaugh.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?