ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2001-05-13
Website work and adventurer spirit

Ooof. Spent most of today updating...(*counts on her fingers*) Six sites. Most of them big.

Oof.

It wouldn't be such a bother if I wasn't so swamped with things. For some reason, I got involved with all these things when I wasn't working (well, no, not for some reason. For a definite reason -- I needed something to do), and for some strange reason, they all needed work done now, right when I'm getting used to my job and everything.

So I'm swamped. I have to work out a schedule, which has a fair amount of suckage, because I can't write with all the work I have to do.

And I want to write. I really want to write.


I saw The Mummy Returns today. And I wasn't expecting too much, gauging my response on what Sheila and Brian had said, so I was fully surprised when it was really damn good.

No, I'm serious. Damn good.

I think it's because I have this hardcore archaeology love. I always have. Stick a movie on with jodphurs and dead languages and I'm in heaven.

Come on, you anthropology majors. Don't lie to me and tell me that Indiana Jones had an effect on you. Or Stargate. Or The Mummy (the first one). Or even freakin' Lara Croft.

I wanted to be an adventurer. I wanted to be the one in the brown leather boots with a gun in one hand and an ancient idol in the other.

It's just a beautiful dream to me. Rachel Weisz in The Mummy Returns really didn't help either. Beauty, reading dead languages, protector of holy goods, and really damn good with a rifle too.

Be still my heart.

I just want to be the one who saves the day, gets the girl, and kicks much ass. Is that too much to ask for?

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?