ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-01-08
The rambling of a very busy person

Can't figure out if Blogger's down or not. Can't figure out if Diaryland's down or not. Can't figure out if my brain's down or not.

I think it's mainly my brain, because I've been worked like the proverbial dog the past few days. Yeah, it's only Tuesday, but this is a minor hell week.

Then again, it's a hell month. If I'm planning to take two weeks off to go wild in the streets of Long Beach, then I gots to work my ass off before I go.

Which means that I barely have time for slacking. Which is a shame, because with my attention span, I need all the slacking I can get.

"Slack to the left, slack to the right, slack over here, slack over there, oooh, shiny thing!"

So busy that I don't have time to pick at my nails and make them into the short stubby little things I like them to be -- no, they are long and mighty and vicious bastards in nail form. Which disturbs me on many levels because I never expected to grow long nails.

(But, yo, using Lush's hand and nail cream? That shit works...)


I did, however, bury my ass in HTML yesterday to make something nice and pretty. I'm addicted to Smallville, and I show it the only way I can -- through femslash.

small town girls
small town girls
- Smallville femslash archive/list

Wheeee, it's pretty and so is Lana. I want to bend her over bales of hay or something. As terrible as that is. She hasn't replaced Cordelia or Faith in my "Gorgeous babes of love and lust" book, but she's just a treat.


And Dol's back and getting to talk to him is just peachy and I go "awww yeaaaah" when I talk strange things like writers' guild admin stuff and whatnot. And just general crap. 'cause he's fabulous.

Oh, and if you're in the UK, you want to pick up the latest issue of Attitude with David Paisley on the cover. Not just because he's Dol & Pam's friend, he's just generally cool. In the half hour or so that I met him and shared KFC with while Dol rolled his eyes at our grease addiction.


So I'm slowly slogging through The Return Of The King, and when I say "slog," I mean slog. Just all the long descriptions of battles and epicness...it doesn't work for me. I just sort of skip through it and then end up having to re-read it because I miss something great.

Got a little pissy during the whole "Eowyn! What are you doing here? You're a girl!" bit, but, yeah, earlier time, earlier attitude. Still made me grumble, though.

And reminded me why most high fantasy just makes me want to kick things. The whole "if you're not a strong virgin queen with a sword, you're the hausfrau" mentality...they're just kinda boring...

Once I finish these puppies, it's all about rereading Preacher and The Invisibles. I'm in the mood for blood, guts, and subversion, baby.

Nice and smooth....


It's funny. I've been reading the Preacher graphic novels I got the husband for Christmas, and after readin' them, I just start fucking twanging...full fuckin' southern texas accent with an urge to drink straight bourbon and smoke malboros like a real man...

Shotguns and swampland, preacher men and devil women.

Where the man who gives long and glorious speeches about how wonderful the USA is turns out to be an cold-blooded Nazi war criminal, and where the inbred downhome mutants are the nicest people around.

The New Scum.

(okay, that's a Transmetropolitan reference -- which I just don't own enough of. That's next on the "collect collect collect!" list)


And with that, I'll curl up on the bed and watch Out There obsessively....ahhhh...clips of shitty bizarre movies...

It just makes me want to get as many strange movies as I can. Oh yes.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?