ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-09-24
Organisation, prison, earthquakes

Twitchy.

Wearing a new shirt, and it's not gotten used to my skin and it's 95% cotton and 5% elastane, so it tightens around me, rubbing against my arms and my stomach. Wearing a giant cardigan, because it's cold in the office and I always have to wear something warm. Trapped in nylon and elastane and all I want to do is take off all my clothes and go scrub myself vigorously in a shower, taking care of all this dry skin that's sitting on my body.

Twitchy. Very twitchy.

 

Sunday, I was so productive. Like, I astounded myself. Because not only did I bake a rather attractive nectarine crumble for dessert (straight from Are You Hungry Tonight? Elvis' Favorite Recipes, with a slight variation in adding dried apricots along with the nectarines), I also cleaned out my closets, getting rid of all the clothes that I knew I'd never wear again.

Five large shopping bags' worth, too. A few pairs of shoes, a heck of a lot of shirts, and any jeans that were under 40 inches, because I'm realizing that I will probably never see 38, much less 36 again.

It's a good thing I'm so happy wearing menswear, 'cause I don't think I'd be able to get decent jeans anywhere else.

And, okay, I had a bit of a depressive moment when I realized that, and it just kept on going for a bit because I don't consider myself fat, but society does because I can't fit into a size 12 or a C-cup or what-fucking-ever, and I'm most definitely not fat, because, fat, for me, is my aunt's 400-lb-plus never-got-off-his-ass-and-worked-a-day-in-his-life ex-husband. In sweatshorts. And a tank top. And his sunken armchair.

That's fat. Me, I'm just kinda full.

 

But, hey, I can still keep my kickass style and I have fucking groovy dresses that fit like a dream, and who cares if I can't wear the hideous faux suede and stringy belts that are in fashion right now and look like a reject from a Whole Earth Catalog c irca 1973? I'm a geek, people -- I have a particular image to uphold, and it involves wearing as much silver as possible and as little natural colors as life can allow.

Which reminds me...I need new shoelaces for my silver boots. While I'm groovy with the hot pink laces most of the time, I am going to be wearing them with my Games Day t-shirt, which is bright red. And, ugh, mixing bright red and neon pink at the same time?

It's bad enough my hair will either be purple or blue -- I'm already going to contrast a bit too much -- no need to make it worse.

 

So, yeah, Sunday was spent organizing the closet, and Monday, my anniversary present arrived -- one week after it was purchased. Season One of OZ, baby. The good shit, all right there on DVD. And damn, have things changed.

It was funny getting my husband's reactions to it, though. He's only seen a few of the fourth season episodes, so to see ickle Toby Beecher, with his glasses and his suit and his big eyes, and contrast that to the vaguely badass mofo he became, well...

Yeah, it was funny. And he's also discovering why I love Adebisi so. Damn, a whole glorious season of Adebisi doin' what he does best....I'm as giddy as a schoolgirl.

But, damn, it's fabulous. We watched two episodes last night, and we have six more to get through. I suspect we'll do that quite easily.

 

And, on Sunday night, as you probably heard, either from experiencing it or reading about it in the news, we had an earthquake.

Now, I'm from L.A. We've had our fair share of earthquakes. I remember a lot of them. And I know what to do.

People here...they don't know what to do. I actually had someone at work tell me "I'd feel a lot safer here during an earthquake than I would in L.A."

Um...yeah.

See, there are these things...they're called building codes. And in L.A., contractors are kinda legally responsible to make sure the buildings...y'know...stay up. Here, unreinforced brickwork everywhere -- one good quake and it all topples down. And you think you're safe?

And then I find out that England is actually overdue for a 5-pointer quake, which they apparently have at least once every ten years! Why did no one tell me this when I moved? I thought I'd be earthquake-free!

That's it. When I get home, I'm making an earthquake pack. Bottled water and cans of beans -- that's what I'm all about.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?