ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-09-22
Shopping and Sadako

Ooof.

Yesterday, we decided that, since we still had a �5 rail voucher that we had to use up, and since I needed a winter coat, we might as well go to Leicester and shop our little brains out.

And, boy, did we ever.

I eventually ended up with a copy of Margaret Atwood's Lady Oracle, some hair things, some nail polish, a 4-disc set of "lounge classics" that was going for �2.99, a new backpack, a top, a jumper, two t-shirts, a pair of jeans, some socks, some hair bleach, the coat I intended to purchase, a bunch of comic books, Star Wars wrapping paper, the 2003 Angel calendar (not enough Cordelia, damnit), and, finally, four DVDs -- Austin Powers: International Man Of Mystery, and, even better than that, the entire Ring trilogy.

Hey, Virgin had 2 for �20 going on. Like I was going to pass that up.

And, okay, Ring 2 wasn't brilliant, and we haven't even seen Ring 0, and I swore to the husband that I wouldn't make him watch any more strange Japanese movies after watching Audition, but, hey, I gotta support my habit somehow, right?

 

Besides, there's going to be a costume party at work on November 1st. And I've decided I'm going as Sadako. I need to watch the movie to get the costume exact, right?

(although I know I won't get it exact. But at least I can figure out how I'm going to do the "ripped off nails" look. Probably with nail glue, a good flesh-tone nail polish, and then some black-red nail polish. And a lot of small brushes.)

I don't know why I'm bothering. It's not like anyone will know who Sadako is. And I'll have to be pushing my long black wig out of my face all the damn time just to have a drink or two.

 

But, hey, dressing up for Halloween -- I'm so there. Because it's Halloween. My old-time family tradition with the jack o lanterns and scaring the kids and everything and anything.

Damn, I wish I was back in L.A. for Halloween. I wish Oingo Boingo was still playing, I wish I could come up with elaborate costumes and walk into a concert wearing it and laughing at what everyone else was wearing -- dancing and singing and enjoying life.

But I'll take what I can get.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?