ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-01-04
I wish I was five, but then I wish I was in a movie

I've discovered that, when I'm tired, I am a five year old.

I start getting crabby and frustrated and getting close to bursting into tears. I start sniping at everything and just getting all sorts of problems.

So I think I need a naptime. I'll get a little mat with a unicorn or something on it and every day after lunch, I'll curl up and have a nap. And then after that I'll have some juice and play barbies.


I did learn how to do a bit of javascript today. Nothing I can show off, 'cause it's for a promo CD, not a webpage, but I was rather impressed with myself for learning it just from bits and pieces of sites and a book.

First Dreamweaver, then stylesheets, then javascript, then the world!

And all the layout for the CD looks good, all the code is good, and everything about it is just good. I'm really proud of it, even if it is just for trade accounts and I'll never see it again.

Maybe I should burn a copy for me -- just to have it for my portfolio or somethin'.

But, man, did I mention how much I love designing websites? It's a rush again -- it's a flat out slip and slide rush of code and thought processes, making sure that everything's just right in your head before you make it just right in your document...

God, I love it.


Been working on other things too, though. Jen-O and I are all workin' on the BFE that we have going. She's toning down my melodrama and I'm going "No! We need these great epic scenes!"

I think I was meant to be Michael Bay. Big melodramatic movies with schmaltzy plots and overwrought emotion. Oh yes. That's my life. Bruce Willis running through a cornfield with a woman crying behind him while the music swells.

It doesn't help that I see everything as movie scenes. Flash, dissolve, slow pan to the right.


Watched the first season of The League of Gentlemen today. Fell over in tears of laughter at the extended version of Tubbs, Edward and the policeman. My God, the Wicker Man references were flying right and left with that baby. And I couldn't stop laughing at them.

It's sad how quickly I got them. The minute Tubbs said "Did I do it right" and Edward replied "You did it beautifully" hit me hard and that was it. Throw in a reference to my favorite movie, and I'm automatically your fan.


Now watching Faster Pussycat Kill Kill. All about three go-go dancers causing trouble. Sometimes, I wish I could live the dream...

Pause. Cue soundtrack. Fade to black.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?