ass-lazy tropicana of the mind
new / old / about / reading / rings / guestbook

2002-03-23
suddenly, I'm a nerd.

Man, what a day...

We had heard from the UK BtVS newsgroup (well, he had heard. He told me. Because I've been out of newsgroups for about a year in just sheer apathy..) that there was going to be a demo of the new Buffy the Vampire Slayer Collectible Card Game.

So we woke up early, got out of the house, and got to the International Community Centre when it all began.

We played a demo game, played another game, then the guy said "Hey, wanna join in the tournament, since there aren't that many people here?"

We look at each other, we shrug, and we lay down our �17 each for starter decks and booster packs.

And after four more bloody hours, we reach a point where everyone else is getting jumpy about us finishing, the husband just more or less refusing to attack my characters (choosing instead to do the challenges, which are cool, but just doing them takes forever...), and we just call it a sudden death.

I end up winning, and when the results are all tallied up -- all the different battles everyone else played ended up twisting their scores, and I end up in second place.

"...The Hell?" I say, as I'm loaded down with Buffy merchandise and grinning like a dork.

Easter egg with coffee mug, t-shirt, Top Trumps, a second starter pack, a bunch of booster packs, a poster, a postcard, and a small pile of promo cards. Had to borrow a bag to fill up with all the swag, and all the while I'm thinking "Shit, I've turned into a ccg nerd!"

But, fuck it. My main deck, the one I actually bought instead of won, is Giles. Giles Giles Giles Giles, baby. If I can't get Oz, it's the next best thing.

The second deck I got is a Willow deck, which, y'know, bah, Willow, but what the hell, it beats a Spike deck (which I lived in mortal fear of getting if I chose the baddies, because, hello, having to look at Tall, Bleached, and Sinewy every time I play? Eeeeeew...)

I can't believe I'm going to keep on playing this sucker. I feel like I am, because I understand it, and, y'know, I eventually hope for the time I can get a perfect Cordelia-centric deck, but, dude, Giles, cards focused on brains, it's all good.

Such a fucking nerd, though.


After that, it was wild in the streets shopping, for the heck of it. Stopped off at all our usual haunts, picking up comic books and DVDs for the hell of it.

Did I mention that the husband got me the first-season Angel DVDs for my birthday? And shortly after got his order of third-season X-files in? And we still have movies we haven't watched from Christmas? And my second-season of Spaced ought to be in soon?

Jesus, we have a backlog of epic fucking proportions. It's distressing, to say the least.

And on Friday, I'm heading back to Leicester for the shopping spree-o-rama at the mighty mighty Uni-Qlo. If you're in the East Midlands, it's open on the 27th, and for fuck's sake, you have to see their clothes to believe them. So simple, so elegant, so delicious.

Oh, and dead cheap too.

And then it's my birthday party on Saturday! Crossroads and drinking and a pile of people coming to see me! It's bliss! I'm sure of it.

And, okay, it's going to be intensely lame, but that's how it has to be, y'know? Lameness is as lameness does. Or something like that.


I should possibly worry about how watching Pi always gives me a headache. Maybe there's something in Max Coen's mind that's making mine explode.

go back, forth, or email

visit other places: dymphna.net / livejournal / wish list

joined: diary reg / diary crit / diary review / tiki reviews / gblog / little queer / hit or miss / mac-made / btjs:cordy

designed february 2002 by kate bolin, dymphna.net design. space provided by diaryland. looks best in ie5+ on a macintosh, but that's unsurprising, isn't it?